News Details

September 29, 2014

Eleven Physics Students Earn 2014 NASA Fellowships

The NASA West Virginia Space Grant Consortium has awarded NASA Fellowships for 2014 to eleven freshmen physics students at West Virginia Wesleyan College.

“Winners are selected based on their academic record and their commitment to a discipline of interest to NASA,” said Dr. Joseph Wiest, professor of engineering and Wesleyan representative to the consortium.  Awardees are paid a stipend to perform a research project during the academic year.

The students will be working in teams of three to build the optimal catapults in the freshman Engineering Design course with Dr. Tracey DeLaney, assistant professor of physics.

This year, the students are Alex Brannon of Nitro, WV, Fredricah Gardner of Dunmore, WV, Ashton Hinzman of West Union, WV, Aryn House of Hedgesville, WV, Joshua Jacob of Orlando, FL, Mark Leadingham of Sharpsburg, MD, Kimberly Lubic of Gibsonia, PA, Angela Meyer of Elkview, WV, Jericho Norris of Vienna, WV, Neil Scherich of Fairmont, WV, and Marshall Sharp of Charleston, WV.

Fellowship winners also have the opportunity to apply for NASA summer research fellowships and internships at a NASA facility such as the NASA-Langley Space Flight Center.

Cutline: Front l-r: Dr. DeLaney, Alex Brannon, Kimberly Lubic, Angela Meyer

Back: Joshua Jacobs, Aryn House, Dr. Reynolds, Fredricah Gardner, Neil Scherich, Marshall Sharp, Ashton Hinzman, Mark Leadingham, Jericho Norris, Dr. Wiest, Dr. Bert Popson

« Back to News

West Virginia
Wesleyan College

59 College Avenue
Buckhannon, WV 26201
(304) 473-8000

Contact Us


Support WVWC

Current Students


I want more information

Get in touch >