News Details

June 16, 2015

Haynes of Parkersburg Named Eighth West Virginia Scholar

West Virginia MetroNews and West Virginia Wesleyan College has named Breaunna Haynes of Parkersburg, WV and Parkersburg South High School as the winner of the eighth annual MVB Bank West Virginia Scholar competition during a luncheon held on Wesleyan’s campus today.  A rising senior, Haynes plans to study nursing and was awarded a full, four-year scholarship to West Virginia Wesleyan College to include tuition and fees, along with room and board, beginning in the fall 2016.

Margaret “Maggie” Lohmann of Bridgeport, WV and Bridgeport High School was named first runner-up and will receive a $5,000 four-year renewable scholarship to Wesleyan.  Second runner-up was Khori Lowther of Jane Lew, WV and Lewis County High School.  Lowther won a $2,500 four-year renewable scholarship to Wesleyan.  Lohmann plans to study biology and English while Lowther will enter into the Pre-Med or nursing program.

During her acceptance speech, Haynes thanked her family, the sponsors, and scholarship benefactors for this opportunity.  She also offered congratulations to all finalists for their achievements to date.

Scholarship funds for the West Virginia Scholar Award are provided by the Culpepper Wesleyan Scholars Award and by West Virginia Wesleyan College.  The Culpepper Wesleyan Scholars Award was established in 1991 as an endowed scholarship fund by Olive O’Dell Culpepper ’33 and C. Ross Culpepper ’30, and is continued today by Marvin ’51, Hon. ’06 and Elaine Karnes Culpepper ’54, Hon. ’06.

The MVB Bank West Virginia Scholar Program is also sponsored by the West Virginia Forestry Association, the West Virginia Hospital Association, the West Virginia Homebuilders Association, and Friends of Coal.

Founded in 1890, West Virginia Wesleyan is a private residential college located in Buckhannon. The college offers 47 majors and graduate programs in athletic training, business, education, English creative writing and nursing. Thirteen Wesleyan students have been selected as U.S. Department of State Fulbright Scholars.

Pictured above are Maggie Lohmann of Bridgeport, 1st runner up; Breaunna Haynes of Parkersburg, winner; and Khori Lowther of Jane Lew, 2nd runner up



« Back to News

West Virginia
Wesleyan College

59 College Avenue
Buckhannon, WV 26201
(304) 473-8000

Contact Us


Support WVWC

Current Students


I want more information

Get in touch >