News Details

April 26, 2016

Semi-Finalists Announced for West Virginia Scholar Program

MetroNews, in conjunction with West Virginia Wesleyan College, is pleased to announce the fifteen semi-finalists for the 2016 West Virginia Scholar Program.  Semi-finalists are competing for a full scholarship valued at $125,000 to Wesleyan.


Semi-finalists include Madison Bowles, Herbert Hoover; Justin Brinkmeier, Tyler Consolidated; Erin Burks, Ravenswood; Jayson Chappell, Oak Glen; Luke Cox, Bridgeport; Zachary Halterman, Keyser; Thomas Hugart, Nicholas County; Emma Locarnini, Washington; Madison Matheny, Parkersburg South; Bailey Mcinturff, Woodrow Wilson; Madison Robinson, South Charleston; Amber Sturgill, Shady Springs; Gavin Surbaugh, Webster County; Taylor Walroth, Hurricane; and Chase Webb, Roane County.

These students will participate in a one-on-one interview, and finalists will be announced May 23.  At that time, online voting for winners will begin.

Second place prize is a four-year, $5,000 scholarship, while third place prize is a four-year, $2,500 scholarship to Wesleyan.  All awards begin with the 2017 fall semester.

In addition to MetroNews and Wesleyan, sponsors for the 2016 West Virginia Scholar Program include the Culpepper Scholarship, the West Virginia Hospital Association, the Home Builders Association of West Virginia, ZMM Architects and Engineers, the High Technology Foundation, Friends of Coal, and the West Virginia Forestry Association.


Winners will be announced during an on-campus luncheon on Wednesday, June 22.

« Back to News

West Virginia
Wesleyan College

59 College Avenue
Buckhannon, WV 26201
(304) 473-8000

Contact Us


Support WVWC

Current Students


I want more information

Get in touch >