News Details

May 22, 2017

Finalists Announced for WV Scholar Program

Ten finalists have been named by West Virginia Wesleyan College in the 10th annual MetroNews West Virginia Scholar Program.  These high school juniors represent counties across the state.  The program’s winner will be announced at the 2017 West Virginia Scholar award luncheon on June 21 at Wesleyan. 

The grand prize includes tuition, fees, room, and board at Wesleyan, a package valued at $160,000.  Second prize is a four-year, $5,000 scholarship, and third prize is a four-year, $2,500 scholarship to Wesleyan.  All awards begin with the 2018 fall semester.

The general public can now vote for their favorite finalist by clicking on the West Virginia Scholar program icon at  Those interested can watch a short video of each finalist and listen to audio recordings from their parents.  The vote totals will equate for about 10 percent of the final overall score.  Only one vote per IP address is counted.

Finalists include Kylee Casto of Ripley High School, Presley Fisher of Ripley High School, Chloe Hibbs of Hampshire High School, Madison Martin of Winfield High School, Sydney Maxwell of Buckhannon-Upshur High School, Madisen Miles of Robert C. Byrd High School, River Myers of Richwood High School, Uriah Myers of Richwood High School, Christopher Neil of Ripley High School, and Baylee Senator of Chapmanville High School.

In addition to MetroNews and West Virginia Wesleyan and the Culpepper Scholar Award, the sponsors for the 2017 MetroNews West Virginia Scholar Program are the West Virginia Hospital Association, ZMM Architects and Engineers, the West Virginia Forestry Association, Jim Goolsby and Ed Stike with RBC Wealth Management, the West Virginia Farm Bureau and Friends of Coal.



« Back to News

West Virginia
Wesleyan College

59 College Avenue
Buckhannon, WV 26201
(304) 473-8000

Contact Us


Support WVWC

Current Students


I want more information

Get in touch >