News Details

October 09, 2014

Alumni to Be Inducted into the 2014 Hall of Fame Class

A standout women’s basketball player and track athlete, three-sport athlete and well-known high school coach, standout swimmer, basketball great, and championship women’s tennis team will become  the newest members of the West Virginia Wesleyan College Athletic Hall of Fame during Homecoming weekend, October 17-19.

Frances Carvajal ’05 was a three-time All-West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference selection and led the conference in rebounding in 2005.  She also was a two-time national qualifier in the women’s shot put where she placed ninth and tenth, respectively.  Carvajal also won three WVIAC titles in the shot and three titles in the discus.

The late Charles “Chuck” Elkins ’52 was a three-sport athlete at Wesleyan in football, basketball, and baseball.  After graduating from Wesleyan, Elkins was an educator and coach for 44 years, serving as head basketball coach at Hamlin for 32 years and principal for five years.  He served as president of the WV Coaches Association.  Elkins and his wife, Rose, rarely missed a Wesleyan football or basketball game after his retirement. Named in his honor, an annual participation award is presented to the class with the highest percentage of attendees during Homecoming.

Jim Harsha ’69 was a four-year record-setting swimmer.  A fierce competitor, he captured championships in the 200-freestyle, 500-freestyle, 1650-freestyle, 400- and 800-freestyle relays. He led Wesleyan to conference championships in 1968 and 1969 and was named the WVIAC Swimmer of the Year three times.  He set school records in every conference swimming meet.

Mark Mendelson ’71 is the third career scorer in Wesleyan history with 1,897 points.  He remains the leading points per game scorer in Wesleyan history at 19-points per game.  The Ohio native was a four-time member of the All-WVIAC Team.

The 1997 women’s tennis team, coached by Jim Smith ’57, enjoyed a 14-2 regular season campaign before capturing the WVIAC Tournament championship.  Singles titles were claimed by Kathleen Klouse ’01, Dr. Brooke Campbell Fox ’01, Susan Harris ’99, and Mary Ann Narutowicz ’00 while Dawn Vighetti Kempton ’00, MBA ’02, and Klouse and Campbell and Narutowicz captured doubles titles in the three-day tournament.   Senior captain Jen Cole Willits ’98 helped lead Wesleyan to the best overall regular-season record four straight seasons and was an All-Conference selection in singles and doubles. Other team members included:  Katharine Sheridan Perrine ’01, Nicole C. LeBosse Watson ’98, Aubryn Falk George ’99, Deana M. Shirley ’00, Ila Hiserman Pilon ’00, Miranda Roe ’01, and Xylene Simone Williams Sziksai ’98.

The Hall of Fame ceremony will be held on Saturday, October 18 at 5 p.m. in the Benedum Campus Center Social Hall.

« Back to News

West Virginia
Wesleyan College

59 College Avenue
Buckhannon, WV 26201
(304) 473-8000

Contact Us


Support WVWC

Current Students


I want more information

Get in touch >